Good Mornin’ Lemon Muffins #1

The other day was a rainy, dreary day. Kind of one of those days that you love because you can just stay in, watch Harry Potter, and drink coffee. Now, I love my cloudy days, but I thought I would brighten it up with some lemon muffins.

DSCF3839 Edited

These mornin’-lovin’ jumbo muffins are full of fresh lemon flavor, topped with sweet streusel, and sweet and tangy lemon glaze that brings it all together!

I just bought myself a jumbo muffin pan a couple weeks ago, so of course I couldn’t wait to try it out. I have never made lemon muffins before, actually I have limited muffin experience to begin with. That is why I’m referring to these as “#1” because they are not quite there yet, but still delicious. It’ll take me a few times I think, so enjoy my muffin adventure!

DSCF3833 Edited

I cannot take full credit for any of this, just so you know. Since I have never made lemon muffins, I needed some direction, so this recipe is based off the one found here: http://www.simplyscratch.com/2011/07/jumbo-lemon-coffee-cake-muffins.html.

DSCF3832 Edited

DSCF3831 Edited

DSCF3837 Edited

DSCF3836 Edited

I have grown very fond of the lemon flavor over the last year or so. I’m always the one that goes crazy for chocolate– I have a whole recipe book of chocolate things for goodness sake! But when done right, lemon things are pretty high up on the list for me.

DSCF3834 Edited

DSCF3840 Edited

DSCF3838 Edited

DSCF3844 Edited

DSCF3843 Edited

DSCF3841 Edited

DSCF3835 Edited

DSCF3830 Edited

DSCF3829 Edited

DSCF3842 Edited

DSCF3845 Edited

Good Mornin’ Lemon Muffins #1

Ingredients

For Streusel

1 1/2 c. + 4 T. flour
1/2 c. + 4 T. brown sugar
1/2 c. + 4 T. salted butter, chilled

For Muffins

2 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1 t. baking soda
1 t. Kosher salt
1/2 unsalted butter, softened
1 c. sugar
Lemon zest of 1-2 lemons (depending on how much lemon you want)
Lemon juice of 1/2 a lemon
2 large eggs
1 t. vanilla
1 c. buttermilk (1 T. lemon juice or vinegar, then add milk until measures 1 cup)

For Lemon Glaze

1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
Lemon juice of 1/2 a lemon

Directions

Start the streusel topping: In a food processor, mix the flour, brown sugar, salt, and butter until you get crumbles.
– Reserve in fridge until later…
– Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 6 ct. Jumbo muffin (or 12 ct. regular sized) tin.
Now onto the muffins:  In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda and powder, and salt. Set aside.
– With a mixer, cream butter and sugar until creamy.
– Add lemon flavors; zest and juice.
– Mix in eggs one at a time.
– Add vanilla and mix.
– Add buttermilk alternately with flour mixture, scrape bowl, and give a final stir.
– Fill muffin cups evenly and generously sprinkle streusel over batter.
– Bake 30-40 minutes **(Depends on your oven and weather and such. The recipe I adapted from, said 45-55 minutes and it definitely did not take that long for me, so just be aware, please!)**
– Allow to cool for about 5 minutes and remove the muffins for further cooling.
Lemon Glaze Time: Simply mix powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice until desired consistency. I typically like a glaze with more substance and thickness, but it is purely up to you!
– Glaze muffins when completely cooled and store in airtight container.
– Lastly, devour with a cup of milk, tea, or, if you’re like me, coffee! And enjoy.

Leave a comment