Lofthouse Style Frosted Sugar Cookies

I realize I am a little late posting these, especially since most people, me included, think of these as Christmas cookies. In fact, I wasn’t even going to do this because I thought it was too late, but then I figured “What the hay!”
DSCF3641 EditedThis is my blog and I can do whatever I want. Whether it be pumpkin cookies in July or Christmas cookies in January. I’m watching Home Alone as I type this anyway. I like to keep the Christmas spirit going as much as I can. To be honest, sometimes I watch Home Alone in the middle of summer!
DSCF3643 EditedAnd if you didn’t know, I am addicted to Pinterest and that is where I found this recipe, specifically from this link: http://authenticsuburbangourmet.blogspot.com/2011/09/lofthouse-style-frosted-sugar-cookies.html.
DSCF3638 Edited Snowman and woman salt and pepper shakers I gave to my parents this year 🙂
DSCF3639 Edited DSCF3637 Edited DSCF3640 Edited And the mini Christmas tree they gave me! If you can’t tell, I love Christmas…
DSCF3636 Edited DSCF3644 EditedLofthouse Style Frosted Sugar Cookie
a.k.a. The best darn soft, frosted sugar cookies in the world! These cookies, although a little time-consuming, are well worth it. Even then if you do it in shifts, they really are not hard. But, boy, they are everything you want in a soft sugar cookie: big, fat, and soft with simply delicious buttercream frosting. Plus everyone will love them!

Ingredients for Cookies

6 c. all-purpose flour
1 t. baking soda
1 t. baking powder
1 c. butter, softened
2 c. granulated sugar
3 eggs
2 t. vanilla
1/4 t. salt
1 1/2 c. sour cream

Directions for Cookies

-Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
-Add eggs one at a time, beating until each is incorporated.
-Add vanilla and sour cream and beat on low until all mixed.
-Add dry ingredients and beat on low until just combined. Dough will be sticky.
-Divide into 2 sections, flatten into rectangles and wrap in plastic wrap.
DSCF3576 Edited DSCF3578 Edited -Chill in fridge overnight or at least 2 hours.
-Preheat oven to 425.
-Take one of the rectangled-doughs (?) to work with while leaving the other one in the fridge.
-Dust dough with flour on both sides and on board.
-Roll dough 1/4-in. thick.
-Use a 2 1/2-in. round cutter or any cutter you would like.
DSCF3580 Edited -Bake 7 minutes or until pale golden.
-Remove from baking sheet to cool.

Ingredients for Cookie Frosting

1 c. butter, softened
1 t. vanilla
4 c. powdered sugar
6 T. heavy cream
food coloring, sprinkles, etc.

Directions for Cookie Frosting

-Cream butter and vanilla.
-Slowly beat in powdered sugar alternating with heavy cream, 1 T. at a time, as necessary or until desired consistency.
-Frost cookies when completely cooled.
-Allow to set and store in air-tight container.

*Best for cookies to sit for several hours so flavors can develop and do their thing.

Leave a Reply

