Traditional Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

DSCF3453 Edited Unfortunately, I don’t have the pleasure of baking something everyday. Trust me, if I could, I most definitely would. To be honest, we’re still trying to get through the very last of those Choc-o-holic Chocolate Brownies and Chipper Pumpkin Muffins!

I did, however, have a chance to make three, count ’em, (three!) cakes to celebrate my mom’s birthday. I won’t go into detail about the cakes themselves, but I would rather go ahead and talk about the frosting!
DSCF3446 EditedDSCF3445 EditedDSCF3444 Edited This frosting is the perfect, basic frosting. With a subtle vanilla flavor, it is great on literally anything. If you’re into the piping scene, it is wonderful for that as well. It has the perfect thickness and creaminess to decorate cupcakes and cakes just the way you want!

Like a lot of frosting recipes out there, this one is made with butter. Personally, I like my frosting with butter. I think the texture is out of this world and it just tastes real– not like that airy, taste-less frosting concoction that some cakes have. This frosting has some substance to it.

DSCF3456 Edited DSCF3455 Edited

So thanks to my woman, Betty Crocker, I bring to you a…Traditional Vanilla Buttercream Frosting! Enjoy!

DSCF3447 EditedDSCF3454 EditedDSCF3449 Edited

Traditional Vanilla Buttercream Frosting
Frosts one 9×13 cake, one layered 8- or 9-inch round cake

Ingredients

1/2 c. butter, softened
4-1/2 c. powdered sugar
2 t. vanilla
3 T. milk or half-and-half

Directions

-In a large mixing bowl, beat the softened butter with a mixer.
-Add 3 cups of the sugar and mix.
-Add the vanilla and mix.
-Then add the rest of the sugar, the milk, and mix.
-Scrape the bowl with a rubber spatula and mix again. (Does the word mix sound funny to you, yet?)
-Do as you please, now! Frost a cake, add coloring, pipe some delicious chocolate cupcakes, etc.

Leave a Reply

