Choc-o-holic Chocolate Brownies

DSCF3364 Edited

You see, I am basically the keeper of the sweets in my house– and I am not complaining one bit 🙂 These brownies are by far, my favorite go-to dessert. It will fix your chocolate-y sweet tooth in no time! And not to mention as easy as heck!

I just use one big pan and you have yourself a one-bowl, or rather, one-pan recipe.

When we’re really desperate for some sweets I leave out the frosting. These brownies are good enough on their own, but add that frosting, and Oh My Lanta!

This recipe I am sharing with you is adapted from the “Intensely Chocolate Cocoa Brownies” from my very first “cook book” Chocolate on the Brain: Foolproof Recipes for Unrepentant Chocoholics. Needless to say, I love this book (yes, I’m a chocolate fanatic) and you can tell I love this recipe since it practically opens to the page for me.

DSCF3416 Edited

DSCF3365 Edited

Since I’m feeling awesomely old fashioned…black and white photograph!

DSCF3367 Edited

These brownies will take you on a magical, chocolate journey. The actual brownies are moist, almost like they melt in your mouth. Are ya drooling yet? I myself can’t wait to get my little fingers on one after lunch!

I am a big believer that vanilla enhances chocolate flavor by a ton. In regards to that, I dribble a little over a teaspoon of vanilla when making these brownies. I swear it makes them even more chocolate-y. And as a side note, I usually leave out the nuts because my sister isn’t a fan. I’m sure it would be just as amazing, though.

The Favorite Chocolate Frosting, too, is full of cocoa goodness and creamy. It is very much like the filling in one of those chocolate cream donuts from Dunkin’ Donuts! If you’ve ever had one, you know, but if you have never had one, go! Go now!

DSCF3371 Edited

Choc-o-holic Brownies
Yields 12-16 brownies

Ingredients

1/2 c. butter, softened
1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 c. sugar
2 large eggs
1 t. + a tad more vanilla extract
2/3 c. all purpose flour
1/2 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
1/2 c. chopped walnuts, pecans, candies, etc. (optional)

Directions

-Place oven rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 350. Grease an 8- or 9-inch square dish.
-Melt butter over low heat in large pan. When melted, turn off heat and stir in cocoa.
-Add sugar, eggs, and vanilla; mix thoroughly.
-Next, add flour, baking powder, and salt; mix until just combined.
-You can add the nuts or candies now.
-Pour batter in dish and bake 15 to 20 minutes or until top feels firm.
-Remove from oven and Cool, Cut, & Serve!
-For storage, place in air-tight container, or cover with foil or plastic wrap.

Favorite Chocolate Frosting
Frosts One 8- or 9-inch cake or 12 cupcakes

Ingredients

1/2 c. butter, softened
1/4 c. cocoa powder
2 1/2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 t. vanilla
2-3 T. milk (whole, skim, half-and-half, they all work)

Directions

-In a medium bowl, whip the butter.
-Add cocoa and whip until smooth.
-Stir in vanilla and powdered sugar.
-Slowly add milk until you have the consistency you would like.

*Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl frequently! A rubber spatula works wonders!*

2 thoughts on “Choc-o-holic Chocolate Brownies

Leave a Reply

